Grievous Hurt

Answer: [D] 320

Explanation: In the Indian Penal Code, 1860, on the basis of the gravity of physical assault Hurt is classified into simple and grievous to punish the accused for his crime.

The following kinds of hurt only are designated as “grievous”:

  • First — Emasculation.
  • Secondly — Permanent privation of the sight of either eye.
  • Thirdly — Permanent privation of the hearing of either ear.
  • Fourthly — Privation of any member or joint.
  • Fifthly — Destruction or permanent impairing of the powers of any member or joint.
  • Sixthly— Permanent disfiguration of the head or face.
  • Seventhly— Fracture or dislocation of a bone or tooth.
  • Eighthly— Any hurt which endangers life or which causes the sufferer to be during the space of twenty days in severe bodily pain, or unable to follow his ordinary pursuits.

error: Content is protected !!