types of Inquests in india

Which of the following types of Inquests are Presently held in India:

A.) Coroner and Police

B.) Police and Magistrate

C.) Magistrate and Coroner

D.) Police and Medical Examiner

Answer: [B] Police and Magistrate

Explanation: At present, in India two types of inquest are followed:

  1. Police Inquest,
  2. Magistrate’s Inquest.
  1. Police inquest: It is conducted under Section 174 of CrPC if the police officer in charge receives information that a person has committed suicide, or has been killed by another or by an animal or by machinery or by an accident, or has died under circumstances raising a reasonable suspicion that some other person has committed an offence.
  2. Magistrate Inquest: In case of any death a magistrate may conduct an inquest under Section 176, CrPC.

Magistrate inquest is conducted in case of:

  • Death in prison,
  • Death in police custody,
  • Death due to police firing,
  • Death in a psychiatric hospital,
  • Dowry deaths,
  • Exhumation,
  • Rape in Police or Government Custody.
error: Content is protected !!